The Edit Cards settings area of the ProductivityTools bundles several useful additional features for your Daylite records: the DetailEdit Form Section, Role Grouping, Resource Availability, and the Calendar Assistant.
All features require the ProductivityTools plugin. The DetailEdit Form Section and Role Grouping additionally require the Plus Package for Daylite.
| Requirement: The ProductivityTools plugin must be installed and licensed. The DetailEdit Form Section and Role Grouping additionally require the Plus Package. |
Table of contents
DetailEdit Form Section
Role Grouping
Resource Availability
Calendar Assistant
DetailEdit Form Section
Benefits of the DetailEdit Form Section
The DetailEdit Form Section is a feature of the Plus Package combined with the ProductivityTools. It lets you display and edit selected fields of forms on different Daylite objects directly in the detail view, instead of only maintaining them in the form itself.
Compared to classic custom fields, the DetailEdit Form Section offers several key advantages: you can use multiple field types such as drop-down or currency fields, you are not limited to 12 free text and 4 date fields, and you can add extra fields to objects that do not have custom fields by default.
Use the DetailEdit Form Section directly with the following Daylite objects:
- People
- Companies
- Opportunities
- Projects
- Groups
- Appointments
- Tasks
- Notes
- Emails
Setting up the DetailEdit Form Section
To use the DetailEdit Form Section, proceed as follows:
- Navigate in the PluginCenter to Plus Package -> Alternate views and activate the DetailEdit Form Section
- In the PluginCenter, navigate to ProductivityTools -> Edit Cards and scroll there to DetailEdit Form Section
- Click the plus symbol to add a new configuration
-
Select the Daylite object and the form. If you cannot select the desired form, it may not be enabled for the selected object.
- If you set a category, only objects with this category will show the selected form
- Select the fields of the form that you want to be displayed directly on the object and whether they should be read only or editable
- The fields can be edited directly on the object, unless you have previously checked Read Only
Role Grouping
What is a Role Grouping?
In Daylite, contacts can have roles with companies, projects and opportunities. These are usually listed unsorted among each other which can get confusing quickly.
With Role Grouping it is possible to group individually selected roles for persons, companies, projects and opportunities. This prevents losing track and helps you to find the right contact quickly.
Setting up Role Grouping
To use Role Grouping, proceed as follows:
- Navigate to the Plus Package Preferences -> Alternate Views and activate the Role grouping
- Navigate to the ProductivityTools Preferences -> Edit Cards -> Role grouping
- Select at which object you want to see the grouping
- Select which linked object should be grouped
- Choose by which roles should be grouped
You will now see the linked objects grouped by their roles at the selected object.
You can set multiple groupings. To do so, simply select other objects in the drop-down menu and set the desired grouping there. The groupings already set remain in place. The configured groupings always apply to the entire database; each user only needs to make sure that Role Grouping is activated as outlined above.
Resource Availability
Checking resource availability from within an appointment
In order to use Resource Availability within an appointment, you need the Daylite app ProductivityTools. This allows you, for example, to avoid scheduling resources twice for two simultaneous appointments.
- Add a resource to an appointment
- In the Schedule section you can see whether there are conflicts, i.e. whether the resource has already been scheduled for another appointment
- Move the appointment with regard to resource availability
Calendar Assistant
What is the Calendar Assistant?
The Daylite app ProductivityTools offers the so-called Calendar Assistant. Create new appointments in Daylite for other Daylite users without the need for them to accept an invitation.
The Calendar Assistant offers you the following options:
- Automatically accept the appointment for the other Daylite users
- Suppress the Daylite notification for the appointment, if desired
For example, you can plan appointments for your supervisor without flooding them with invitations and notifications.
Using the Calendar Assistant
Please proceed as follows:
- Create the appointment as usual in Daylite and invite one or more Daylite users, or delegate the appointment to a Daylite user
- Check Accept all invitations to automatically accept the appointment for the other Daylite users
- Check No notifications to suppress the Daylite notification for the appointment, if desired
- Save the appointment