iOWeblink gives you the option to share information from a Daylite project with third parties who have no access to Daylite. The sharing process creates a URL which you can send to third parties by email, for example. Clicking the URL opens a web page with the information you have shared.
Anyone who has this web link can view the information and leave a comment. You are notified of every new comment within Daylite and can reply to it.
iOWeblink is a feature of the Plus Package for Daylite.
| Requirement: The Plus Package for Daylite must be installed and licensed. You also need an active iOAccount, which you can create free of charge in your PluginCenter. |
Table of contents
Basics
Sharing projects
- Sharing a project with iOWeblink
- Defining permissions for sharing
- Changing shared data afterwards
- Finding projects with an iOWeblink
What is displayed on the project web page
Comments and notifications
Troubleshooting
Basics
What is iOWeblink?
iOWeblink gives you the option to share information from a Daylite project with third parties who have no access to Daylite.
The sharing process creates a URL which you can send to third parties by email, for example. Clicking the URL opens a web page with the information you have shared.
Anyone who has this web link can view the information and leave a comment. You are notified of every new comment within Daylite and can reply to it.
Requirements
To use iOWeblink you need our Plus Package for Daylite, which you can also test free of charge for 30 days.
You also need an active iOAccount, which you can create free of charge in your PluginCenter.
When you use iOWeblink for the first time, you are asked to allow iOWeblink to access your Daylite data. This is necessary in order to display the data you have released when the project web page is opened.
Sharing projects
Sharing a project with iOWeblink
You can start the sharing process using the slider directly below the project name, provided you meet the Requirements.
After you have activated the switch for sharing the project, a dialog opens. In this dialog you can set the following:
- Until when you want to share the project information
- Which view you want to use for sharing
- Whether you want to share all appointments and tasks or only those that have a certain category or a certain keyword
- Whether you want to give the recipient permission to check off tasks as done
When saving your settings you can decide whether you only want to save them or whether you want to send an email in order to send the link you created to the project participants.
To send the web link with an email template you must have our extension ProductivityTools installed.
Defining permissions for sharing
You can define which users of your Daylite database have the right to share projects. Only users you have given permission to can use the sharing function in the project view. Daylite administrators can change these settings. Every administrator is automatically authorised to use the sharing function.
To set the permissions, open the Plug-Ins menu in Daylite and navigate to PluginCenter -> Open Weblink Permission.
There you can grant the permission to share projects based on teams or individual users.
Changing shared data afterwards
To change the data that is shared in a project, click the pencil symbol in the sharing area of the project.
| Please note: Only the user who shared the project can change these settings. |
Finding projects with an iOWeblink
To display all projects with an iOWeblink, navigate in the left sidebar of Daylite in the Projects area to the filter list All iOWeblinks.
You can also use the filter criterion iOWeblink in your own Daylite filters.
What is displayed on the project web page
Which information is displayed on the project web page you shared depends on the following conditions:
- Which view you select for sharing the information
- Which tasks, appointments and contacts you have linked to the project
- Whether you have activated a keyword or category filter
There are currently two views that display different information:
Pipeline view
Timeline summary view
Linked objects
If you have not activated a keyword or category filter, both the name and the details of the project as well as all appointments, tasks and people linked to the project are displayed, unless the corresponding object type is not used in the view.
The Pipeline view, for example, shows the project pipeline, while it is not displayed in the Timeline summary view.
Keyword and category filter
When creating the web link you can specify that only appointments and tasks are displayed that contain a certain keyword or a certain category.
You can also define which keyword or which category acts as the filter.
Comments and notifications
How a third party comments in iOWeblink
A comment window is located at the bottom right of every project web page.
After the commenter has entered their name, they can write a text and send it with the Enter key or by clicking the Send symbol.
A note with the name Weblink Comments is then created automatically in Daylite. Every new comment is appended to this note. Within the project view in Daylite you can display the comments in the iOWeblink Copilot widget. Alternatively the corresponding note can be opened.
If you have given the recipient permission to edit the tasks and to check them off as done when sharing the project, the following window opens when clicking on a task. Here the recipient has the option to write a message specifically for this task or to mark this task as done.
As soon as a user has left a message or a comment, or a task has been checked off as done, you receive a notification in your Daylite toolbar.
Notification about new comments
When a new comment is sent via the iOWeblink project web page, the Daylite user who created the iOWeblink receives a notification in the message center of the PluginCenter.
Clicking View comment takes you to the corresponding Daylite project.
Troubleshooting
Pipeline is not displayed in the correct stage
This can occur if you make changes to the pipeline in a shared project after creating the web link.
If a project has changed its pipeline stage, this is unfortunately not updated immediately.
To force an update you have to click the refresh symbol ⟲ in the sharing area of your project once. As soon as we have a technical option, we will improve this function.