Yes, the desktop shortcut can be deleted if you do not need Docs2Daylite functionality. For importing documents you can drag them onto the Docs2Daylite icon in the Applications folder of your Mac.
What does "Delete original file" in Docs2Daylite settings mean?
Which document types are supported by Docs2Daylite?
What is DayliteDocs?